Trim Castle the largest Anglo-Norman Castle in Ireland, was constructed over a thirty-year period by Hugh de Lacy and his son Walter. Hugh de Lacy was granted the Liberty of Meath by King Henry II in 1172 in an attempt to curb the expansionist policies of Richard de Clare, (Strongbow). Construction of the massive three storied Keep, the central stronghold of the castle, was begun c. 1176 on the site of an earlier wooden fortress. This massive twenty-sided tower, which is cruciform in shape, was protected by a ditch, curtain wall and moat.
Bective Abbey (Irish: Mainistir Bheigthí ) is a Cistercian Abbey on the River Boyne in Bective, County Meath. The abbey founded by Murchad O’Maeil-Sheachlainn in 1147 as a ‘daughter house’ of Mellifont Abbey. Although nothing remains except old ruins and walls, it is in a remarkable state of preservation.
Bective Abbey was used as a location during the shooting of Mel Gibson’s 1995 historical action-drama movie Braveheart, the Cloister was used for the scene with the Princess and her maid.
Hill of Tara. The Hill is best known as the seat of the High Kings of Ireland but has been an important site since the discovery of a late Stone Age passage tomb. As you explore this history of this landmark attraction, let the magic and mystery of the Stone Ages wash over you.
The Hill of Tara was at the height of its power as a political and religious centre in the early centuries after Christ. Held sacred by people from the Neolithic era, Tara was believed by worshippers to be a dwelling place of the gods and an entrance to the world of eternal joy.
Legend has it that on his mission to Ireland, Saint Patrick first travelled to Tara in order to confront the ancient religion at its most powerful site. The earliest written records in existence show that high kings were inaugurated there; the “Seanchas Mór” legal text specified that the king must drink ale and symbolically marry the goddess Maeve (Medb) in order to qualify for high kingship.
Hill of Slane.Best known for its association with St Patrick, our national patron saint, the Hill of Slane is traditionally regarded as the location where St Patrick lit the first Pascal Fire in 433 AD in defiance of pagan King Laoighre, the King of Tara.
The site later became an important monastery, similar to that at Monasterboice, which was founded by St Erc, and had its own high crosses and round tower. Later again, the first Slane Castle was constructed on the top of the Hill. With commanding views over the surrounding landscape this was an earthen motte castle rather than a stone castle.
Old Mellifont Abbey In 1142, the first Cistercians came to Ireland at the invitation of St Malachy, archbishop of Armagh. He had visited the famous monastery of Clairvaux on a journey to Rome and, impressed by what he found there, asked St Bernard, the abbot, to train some of his companions in the monastic way of life. These monks, together with some ten other French monks, became the founders of old Mellifont Abbey, about two miles from Monasterboice. The site was donated by O’Carroll, chieftain of Oriel.
The monastery flourished and founded several other Cistercian houses in Ireland. Monastic life continued there until King Henry VIII’s suppression of the monasteries in 1539.
Today the ruins of Old Mellifont are in the care of Heritage Ireland, with an informative Visitor Centre.
Monasterboice the historic ruins are of an early Christian settlement in County Louth. Founded in the late 5th century by Saint Buite (who died around 521), it was an important religious centre until the establishment of nearby Mellifont Abbey by the Cistercians in 1142. The settlement was captured by invading Vikings in 968 AD, who were then comprehensively expelled by Donal, the Irish High King of Tara.
On the site, visitors can discover an old graveyard, two churches and a sundial but Monasterboice is most famous for its spectacular high crosses. Inside the ruins stands the impressive Muiredach’s High Cross (5.5 metres high), regarded as the finest high cross in the whole of Ireland. It features biblical carvings of both the Old and New Testaments of the Bible and a copy is held in the Victoria and Albert Museum in London.
|START TIME||Your Requested Location 8:30 AM.|
|END TIME||Approximately 5:30 PM.|
|WEAR||Comfortable Clothing, Walking Shoes, Hat, Sunscreen (Summer Months)|
Admission Charges :
Adult €4.00 Senior/Group €3.00
Child/Student €2.00 Family €10.00
Castle Excluding the Keep
Adult €2.00 Senior/Group €1.00
Child/ Student €1.00 Family €4.00
Hill of Tara
Adult: €4.00 Senior/Group: €3.00
Child/Student: €2.00 Family €10.00
Old Mellifont Abbey
Adult €4.00 Senior/Group € 3.00
Child/Student €2.00 Family €10.00
Other Venues in the area that maybe of interest to you.
- The Jumping Church
- Battle of the Boyne Site
- Millmount & Martello Tower. Drogheda
- St Peter’s Church/ St Oliver’s Shrine